Post-dinner stupor.

Grilled seafood in garlic butter. Very nice, particularly the mussels, but perhaps they should not have served it in a scalding hot skillet – still cooking when it arrived at the table so the langoustine was overcooked. Scallops were sweet, but again marginally overcooked.

The pork. Belly was moist and delicious. Fillet a tad overcooked. Both very tasty though. Nice black pudding, buth the mash was a bit dry. Accompanied by a big triangle of crackling. I have never understood – and still can’t understand – the English fascination for crackling. It’s burnt skin. It’s revolting. I did try a piece and I haven’t altered my thoughts about it. Yuk.

Chocolate orange creme brulee was to die for.

Service excellent

Wine, a very nice Chilean Sauvignon Blanc. To round off the meal a wee drop of Cragganmore

Overall a most excellent meal, though I will regret it when I get on the scales tomorrow

