Amidst the dull, overcast and persistent rain of today, this is just to remind myself of the Summer

Click to Embiggen

Under hot sun and clear blue skies, looking out over the Vale of Aylesbury. This is from the top of Aston Hill, near Wendover, where Lionel Martin took part in hill climbs in the pre-war years. (That’s pre-Great War years) He raced special builds, then started building his own cars to see how they would perform on the climb. So good, he named them Aston Martin. The rest, as they say, is history.

Don’t think that I’d manage to climb Aston Hill on the Fixie. I went down it and that was bad enough. My cadence went up to 130 before it got too much for me and I had to haul on the brakes. Yes, brakes on a fixie, and if you had to do these hills, you would have brakes too.

